Agency-listedBLM · dispersedFree
Big Dune OHV Area
OHV / 4×4 · Bureau of Land Management · NV · 36.64738, -116.58498
Ask an AI about this campsiteOpens Grok already loaded with this site. It reads the same records this page is built from, and links whatever it tells you.
Ask about this camp →Bureau of Land Management lists this site. On most of their ground you can camp away from developed sites pretty much anywhere — so treat this as a known-good spot, not the only one allowed. The unit sets stay limits and how far off road and water you must be. What changes is conditions — roads, gates, closures, fire rules. Check those with the unit before you commit to the drive.
USGS topo — contours & terrain

Aerial — USGS / NAIP

Weather outlook — at Big Dune OHV Area
Loading the latest forecast…
Live NWS area forecast (~2.5 km grid, not elevation-corrected). Camp sits at 2,473 ft.
Fire & smoke — around Big Dune OHV AreaNIFC · AirNow
Checking active fires & air quality…
Active wildfires from NIFC (within ~50 mi); air quality from AirNow. Always confirm current fire restrictions with the managing office before you go.
Everything you need — measured from Big Dune OHV Area · Bureau of Land Management · NV
▲ your camp. Rings are 15, 30 and 60 straight-line miles; bearings are approximate and roads run longer.
Nearest of each
- GGrocery6 mi
- +Urgent care9 mi
- WWater10 mi
- FFuel10 mi
- @Mail12 mi
- MMechanic20 mi
- DDump20 mi
- OOutfitter20 mi
- LLaundry21 mi
- EVEV fast charger21 mi
- HHardware44 mi
- RxPharmacy45 mi
- AAir-up45 mi
- ShShower54 mi
≤30 mi30–4545+water
The read: water's a short hop out, fuel & food sit about 6 mi out.
Not within 60 mi: Propane. Plan those before you head up.
One dot per need — the nearest of each kind, straight-line from camp. Places from OpenStreetMap (© OpenStreetMap contributors); the EV fast charger from the US DOE station locator. Open in Google Maps ↗
The site — Big Dune OHV Area
Access
OHV / 4×4
Land
Bureau of Land Management · dispersed
Elevation
2,473 ft
Ground slope
18.3% · steep
State
NV
Coordinates
36.64738, -116.58498
Cost
Free
Nearby & resupply — around Big Dune OHV Area · Bureau of Land Management · NV (OpenStreetMap)
- Water featurenone named within 1 mi (USGS NHD)
- Nearest townAmargosa Valley · ~9.1 mi
- Rail & highwaynone mapped within 10 mi
- Drinking waternone within 10 mi
- FuelChevron · ~10.4 mi
- Propane / LPGnone within 31 mi
- Dump station~20.2 mi
- GroceriesMartell Market · ~5.7 mi
- Hospital / clinicAmargosa Valley Medical Center · ~8.8 mi
EV charging — from Big Dune OHV Area · Bureau of Land Management · NV — nearest public DC fast & Level 2 (US DOE station data)
- Nearest public DC fast charger20.7 mi straight-line NW — Beatty, NV - Tesla Supercharger (at a hotel) · Tesla · NACS (Tesla) · 8 fast ports listed · listed open, last confirmed by AFDC 2026-06-18 · hours: 24 hours daily. Open to Teslas only. · directions
- Public DC fast stations within reach1 within 25 mi · 3 within 50 · 99 within 100 · 160 within 150
- Nearest listing CCS49.6 mi — Shoshone, CA, Shoshone
- Nearest listing CHAdeMO50.5 mi — Coyote Corner NV, Pahrump
- Nearest public Level 2 (J1772)20.4 mi — The Oasis at Death Valley - Tesla Destination · Tesla Destination · J1772, NACS (Tesla) · 10 Level 2 ports listed · listed open, last confirmed by AFDC 2026-08-27 · hours: 24 hours daily. Open to all vehicles.
- Also listed, not counted aboveLevel 2, restricted access — Inn at Death Valley, Death Valley, 20.1 mi · J1772 · hours: 24 hours daily
- Pricing at the fast chargernot listed
- Power (kW)not listed by AFDC — “DC fast” spans roughly 24 to 350 kW, so ask the network.
- Read this honestlyStraight-line miles, like every distance on this site. Roads run longer than this, and you have to get back. We know where a charger is listed. We don’t know if it works today, how fast it is, or the road miles. Check the network before you commit.
Snapshot 2026-09-16 · AFDC record 102311 · US DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center
Nearby restrooms — around Big Dune OHV Area · Bureau of Land Management · NV — pit toilets, restrooms & rest areas (government data)
- Highway rest areaAmargosa Valley Rest Area · ~10.3 mi E
- RestroomHells Gate Comfort Station (single vault) · ~14.8 mi S · NPS
- RestroomFederal restroom · ~19.0 mi SE · FWS
- RestroomTX SP Comfort Station #3 (Lower Double) · ~19.8 mi SW · NPS
Coming out here — Big Dune OHV Area · Bureau of Land Management · NV
- No named surface water mapped within 1 mi of the pin in USGS's National Hydrography Dataset (data refreshed October 2022), and none within about a mile and a half in our OpenStreetMap pull — which is not proof there is none, only that neither map has one. Plan to carry washing water as well as drinking water.
- Ground slope around the pin: about 18.3% — steep. Measured on USGS's 3DEP elevation model (1 m data here), sampled every 10 metres around the point. That is the hillside, not the ground under your wheels — a graded pullout or a bench a few metres across is too small to show up at that spacing, and nobody has checked this one for you.
- No rail line and no interstate or US route is mapped within 10 mi of the pin. Checked against the FRA/BTS North American Rail Network (data updated Jul 21, 2026) and the Census's TIGER/Line primary roads (TIGER/Line 2025, released Oct 2025). Both are national files and both are maps of what is built, not counts of what moves on it.
- Assume no services at all. Most dispersed camping in a national forest has none: no tap, no power, no dump, often no toilet. Everything you need, you bring.
- Power: Dave carries his own — batteries or solar. A generator will run your rig and it is also the thing everybody camped near you can hear.
- Getting online: Dave recommends Starlink. He has had it since SpaceX introduced it, used it for four years living on the road, and it delivers as promised — several hundred nights out, and he can count on one hand the places he could not connect. The cable on his unit runs 150 feet, which is usually all it takes to find enough sky. Starlink → Referral link — Starlink pays Dave $100 in cash if you sign up through it, and that money funds this site and the next trip. It costs you nothing and does not change the recommendation.
Open Big Dune OHV Area elsewhere
Who holds the land at Big Dune OHV Area
USGS’s Protected Areas Database (PAD-US 4.1, queried 2026-09-23) lists the ground at this pin as Pahrump Field Office, manager on record: Bureau of Land Management (federal). That names who holds the land — it is not a statement that camping is permitted here.
How we know this — Big Dune OHV Area
Stay limit
14 nights (Stay limit: "14 Days")
Source
public land records
Confidence
Camping not stated — The agency's page implies overnight use -- typically by posting a stay limit -- but never actually says camping is allowed. Worth a call to the field office before you commit to it.
How it was placed
BLM sand-dune OHV area in southern Nye County. BLM's own record (read 2026-08-17) gives Stay limit: "14 Days", which is BLM's standard dispersed-camping limit and implies overnight use is permitted -- BUT BLM DOES NOT SAY THE WORD CAMPING ON THIS PAGE, which is why confidence is 'med' and not 'medium'. A reviewer should confirm with the Pahrump field office before this ships. BLM's description: "These relatively undiscovered sand dunes offer an ideal recreation area for ATVs. These hills are a well-kept secret and mostly used by locals, but expect to find plenty of other off-roaders on the weekends. The Big Dunes cover five square miles and tower to approximatly 500'." [sic] SENSITIVE HABITAT: "Big Dune is home to sensitive plants and animals." BLM's fee field is empty; treated as free as undeveloped BLM land. No facilities are described. NEAREST TOWN: not stated by BLM. Coordinate is BLM's own published point from gis.blm.gov/arcgis/rest/services/recreation/BLM_Natl_Recreation_Sites_Facilities (read 2026-08-17). It is a recreation-area pin, not a surveyed campsite. SOURCE: https://www.blm.gov/visit/search-details/262710/1 | auto:agency-trust 2026-08-18: state agency GIS record with a source URL and coordinates, confidence not low. Fee value is the agency's own, not field-checked. Not field-verified -- confirm access, road conditions and fire rules before you go.
EV chargers
US DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center station locator, snapshot 2026-09-16. Straight-line miles to the nearest public, open, unrestricted station; restricted and planned units are shown but never counted.
Field check
On the agency's books. The land manager inventoried this site, so its existence is not in question — current conditions are. Nobody from here has camped it recently.
What we don’t know about Big Dune OHV Area
A land record can put you within a few meters of a spot. It cannot tell you any of this — so check it yourself, and treat anything below as the open question it is.
- Road surface & last-mile access
- How many rigs actually fit
- Cell coverage by carrier
- Seasonal & winter access
- Current fire restrictions
- Whether any water here is drinkable
- Shade & wind exposure
- Noise and who else shows up
- Whether a listed EV charger works today, or the road miles to it
Before you go — Big Dune OHV Area
Water on public land →What “dispersed” means here →Getting unstuck →Leave no trace →All field notes →